National Student Art Glass Prize at Wagga Wagga…

The official word from the National Art Glass Gallery…

The Inaugural National Student Art Glass Prize was officially launched at the National Art Glass Gallery on Friday 12 March 2010, by Kay Hull Federal Member for the Riverina in front of patrons of the arts and members of the Australian Glass community. Wagga Wagga Art Gallery Glass Curator Michael Scarrone said he was “completely blown away by the support of the art glass community and Wagga Wagga City Council.” The student work in the exhibition ranged from beautiful, to thought provoking and technically challenging making choosing a winner a tough job for judges Maureen Williams, Barbara McConchie and Cath Bowdler. However CJ Taylor, Kristen Costello and Christopher Boha were awarded Highly Commended certificates. The winner of the inaugural National Student Art Glass Prize was Belinda Toll from ANU with her work Time contained, an exploration of the notion of memory. Toll will take up the prize of all expenses-paid masterclasses in the world renowned North Lands Creative Glass centre in Scotland later in the year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s